Mangoes, papayas, guavas, peppers, eggplants and tomatoes

EU bans some Cameroon export crops

Cameroon is on a list of countries banned from exporting certain agricultural products to the European Union. In a letter dated 18 April 2022, addressed to the heads of the phytosanitary police stations at the ports of Douala and Kribi, Yaoundé International Airport and the Postal Service, Gabriel Mbaïrobe, Cameroonian Minister in charge of Agriculture, nevertheless informed them that his administration was “ working serenely to prepare technical files in accordance with the new regulation in order to facilitate exports.”

The ban concerns mangoes, papayas, guavas, peppers, eggplants and tomatoes. These products have constituted over 12.9% of the country's GDP.

Cameroon is not the only country in this situation. Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania are among the countries concerned.


Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber