Webinar, October 19

Identification and management strategies for viral diseases in cucurbits

Join eOrganic for a webinar about viral diseases in cucurbits and organic management strategies, on October 19, 2016 at 11AM Pacific Time (12PM Mountain, 1PM Central, 2PM Eastern). The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Presented by Dr. John Murphy of Auburn University, this presentation will focus on four commonly occurring aphid-borne viruses that infect cucurbits. The webinar will describe these viruses, how they spread in the field and why they are particularly difficult to manage. Approaches will be discussed to diagnose their occurrence in cucurbits and various approaches used to reduce losses caused by these viruses, for example genetic resistance and integration of various production practices such as use of UV-reflective plastic mulch and inter-row living ground covers.

This webinar was organized by members of the NIFA-OREI funded Eastern Sustainable Cucurbit Project, which is a collaboration of growers, researchers and extension agents working to find solutions for the many challenges facing organic cucurbit producers.

Click here for more information and to register.

Publication date:



Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here


Other news in this sector:


Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber