Announcements

Job Offers

"Tweeting Growers"

Top 5 -yesterday

Top 5 -last week

Top 5 -last month

webinar, October 5

Biodiversity conservation activities in organic agricultural systems

Join eOrganic for a webinar on biodiversity conservation on organic farms, which takes place on October 5, 2016 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8538594372635618564

About the webinar
Organic operations must follow the National Organic Program’s (NOP) regulations. The NOP Natural Resources and Biodiversity Conservation Guidance, which interprets these regulations, helps organic producers and their certification personnel determine which conservation practices are appropriate. Biodiversity conservation in organic agriculture varies in a continuum from simple to complex stewardship practices. Opportunities for USDA NRCS to support producers with putting in many of these conservation practices will be discussed. Examples from Wild Farm Alliance that suggest compliance, and minor and major issues related to the Guidance, will be shared. This webinar will also feature presenter, Assistant Professor John Quinn, who will discuss components and issues around biodiversity. Organic producers will learn how to implement conservation practices, and certification personnel will become skilled on how to observe and verify organic operation’s biodiversity conservation practices.

About the presenters
Jo Ann Baumgartner is the Executive Director of Wild Farm Alliance in Watsonville, California. A major focus of her work is on conservation education and advocacy in organic agriculture.

Ben Bowell, Organic Conservation Specialist, USDA NRCS West National Technology Support Center and Oregon Tilth, Portland, Oregon. Through his joint position, Ben provides technical assistance, trainings, and develops resources for use by NRCS staff, agricultural professionals, and producers in order to better support conservation on organic farms.

John Quinn, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biology, Furman University, Greenville, South Carolina. John's work focus on biodiversity conservation opportunities and benefits of these actions in agricultural ecosystems; focusing on organic and agroforestry systems.

Click here for more information.

Publication date:



Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here


Other news in this sector:


Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber