Members of Purdue's Horticulture Department Receive Honors

Members of Purdue University's Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture were recently recognized for their research efforts.

Roberto Lopez, Purdue University, Brian Krug, University of New Hampshire and Diane Camberato, formerly of Purdue University were named recipients of the OFA Alex Laurie Award at OFA Short Course in July.

The Alex Laurie Award is presented by OFA to the author(s) of the most significant applied floriculture research paper published in any of the three refereed American Society for Horticultural Science publications during a calendar year. The award was presented for “Development of Euphorbia pulcherrima Under Reduced Finish Temperatures,” published during 2012 in the HortScience journal.

Lopez, Krug and Nora Catlin of Cornell Cooperative Extension, Suffolk County were also the recipients of the Extension Educational Materials award from the American Society for Horticultural Science (ASHS) for their e-GRO Alert website. They were recognized at the ASHS annual meeting in Plam Desert, Calif. in July

Purdue's Celina Gomez and Wesley Randall also were recognized by the American Society for Horticulture Science in the 2013 Growth Chambers and Controlled Environments Oral Competition at the ASHS meeting.

Gomez was awarded second place for her presentation on "Comparison of Light-Emitting Diode Towers vs. High-Pressure Sodium Lamps for Year-Round Production of High-Wire Greenhouse-Grown Tomatoes." Randall placed third for his presentation on "Determining the Effectiveness of Red and Blue Light-emitting Diodes As Supplemental Lighting During Seedling Propagation."

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber