Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

CAN (ON): OFVGA seeking nominations for Award of Merit

The Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association is now accepting nominations for its industry Award of Merit. The award is handed out annually to an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions to Ontario’s fruit and vegetable sector in areas of strategic leadership, technical input or innovation, and/or the dedication to the industry.

“This award is the OFVGA’s way of honouring exceptional contributions to our industry by individuals or organizations, from grassroots innovators and long-time advocates to those who have shown extraordinary commitment and dedication to the industry,” says OFVGA Executive Director Alison Robertson.

Examples of innovation can stem from categories like improved farm practices, responding to consumer demands, environmental stewardship, energy innovation or advocacy and outreach. To be eligible, nominees must be an OFVGA member farmer/producer, group of farmers, combination of agri-food businesses, or an agri-food related organization within the fruit and vegetable industry. Nominees must also be resident in Ontario and be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

Nomination forms are available at or by contacting the OFVGA office. Completed forms are due by 5 p.m. on December 18 to Deanna Hutton at OFVGA and may be submitted via email to [email protected] or mailed to 105-355 Elmira Rd. N, Guelph ON N1K 1S5.

The winner will be announced at the OFVGA industry banquet on February 19, 2019 at the organization’s annual meeting in Niagara Falls, and will be the subject of a feature article in the March 2019 issue of The Grower. Recent award winners include Harold Schooley and Craig Hunter (2018), Brenda Lammens (2017), Eugenia Banks (2016) and Art Smith (2015).  

For more information:
Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Grower's Association
Publication date: