USDA expands NY drought disaster areas

The USDA has expanded upon the original designation of primary natural disaster areas in New York by adding Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cortland, Onondaga, and Orleans counties. This is as the extreme drought continues into the Finger Lakes of the state.

Growers in Broome, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chenango, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Oswego, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, and Wyoming counties also qualify for disaster assistance since the counties are contiguous to the original disaster designation.

Pennsylvania growers in McKean, Potter, and Warren counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous to the original disaster area.

“Our hearts go out to those New York farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” Tom Vilsack, USDA secretary says. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling New York producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”


Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber

You are using software which is blocking our advertisements (adblocker).

As we provide the news for free, we are relying on revenues from our banners. So please disable your adblocker and reload the page to continue using this site.

Click here for a guide on disabling your adblocker.